Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

The Joyce Brakebill Theatre Scholarship

For Bachelor of Arts students entering UT Knoxville in the Fall.

The Brakebill Scholarship is a non-renewing scholarship specifically for incoming theatre students.  The dollar amount of the scholarship can range between $500 – $2000.  While this scholarship does not renew, there are many other department scholarships that students can apply for once they are on campus.

Applications will be considered between November 1st and March 31st, and scholarship awards will be made no later than April 30th, for the following academic year.


  • a high school senior or transfer student applying to UT
  • excellent academic ability
  • have a passion for theatre
  • have a talent for performance, design, or technical theatre
  • have experience making theatre
  • highly motivated to succeed in my career and contribute to society
  • To study theatre in a broad-based liberal arts curriculum while working in a nationally recognized professional theatre…

How to Apply:

To submit an application or to contact a Department of Theatre representative, please call 865-974-6011, fax application to 865-974-4867 or Email Department of Theatre Office Staff

Audition/interviews can be done at TTA or SETC, as part of an on-site visit to UT, or via video and Skype.

More info:


Mrs. Joyce Brakebill was Marian Brown’s dearest friend and was influential in the Brown’s decision to establish the Clarence Brown Theatre Endowment, supporting a professional theatre on the campus of UT. The Clarence Brown Theatre, operating in partnership with the Department of Theatre, serves a dual mission: to educate and train students in an atmosphere of professionalism and to produce theatre at the highest artistic level. The Joyce Brakebill Theatre Scholarship was therefore established by her husband, Mr. Charles Brakebill, and her son and daughter-in-law, Dr. Lawrence and Mrs. Jeanie Brakebill, to honor Mrs. Brakebill’s enduring contribution to students of theatre at UT.